Blog · Cut files · Scrapbooking

Crate Paper – Oversized Title

Whenever I approach a new layout, the title is usually the last thing I place on the page. I am not very good at finding creative and fun ways to describe a photo, so I use what I have on hand, such as die-cuts, sentiments, and sometimes cut files to make up for the lack of imagination. LOL! The challenge for this week was to create a layout with an unusual title. It took me a bit to decide what I wanted to go with, but I am pleased with the way it turned out.

Oversized title by @enzamg for @cratepaper with #cpflourish #layout #scrapbooking

I am a big fan of tone-on-tone looks, as they emphasize colors and design, so I picked this option for my layout. After choosing photo and sentiment, I used my die-cutting machine to cut the title out of the gorgeous watercolor paper from the Maggie Holmes Flourish collection. I chose three different fonts and sized them in a way to create some variety throughout the page.

Oversized title by @enzamg for @cratepaper with #cpflourish #layout #scrapbookingI wanted the words to be sturdy and thick as chipboard stickers, so I cut each of them three times out of white cardstock and adhered them together. The top layer is, of course, the patterned paper. To create some contrast with the background and make the title stand out more, I offset it a little to show the darker patterned paper underneath. It really makes it pop.Oversized title by @enzamg for @cratepaper with #cpflourish #layout #scrapbooking

Once I had the background ready, it was just a matter of finding a place for photo and embellishments. I fussy-cut some florals that coordinated with my color scheme, and arranged them behind the photo, as well as on top of some of the words.

Oversized title by @enzamg for @cratepaper with #cpflourish #layout #scrapbooking

To lighten the page up a bit, I decided to use die-cut white leaves to back the floral clusters. I also added some gold puffy foliage here and there, and fussy-cut butterflies. Again, I matched the colors to the patterned paper to continue the tone-on-tone look. Most of the embellishments were adhered down with foam adhesive. I really like the dimension it adds to the page.

Oversized title by @enzamg for @cratepaper with #cpflourish #layout #scrapbooking
Oversized title by @enzamg for @cratepaper with #cpflourish #layout #scrapbookingI finished the layout with sentiment sticker that I stapled on one of the roses at the bottom of the page.
Oversized title by @enzamg for @cratepaper with #cpflourish #layout #scrapbookingThank you so much for stopping by! I hope you will feel inspired to create a tone-on-tone title on your next scrapbook layout.

Leave a comment