Blog · Cards · Scrapbooking

Spellbinders – Destination Japan Collection by Lene Lok

Hello, crafty friends! Enza Gudor here with you today to share three projects featuring the gorgeous Destination Japan Collection by Lene Lok. Saying that I am in love with this collection is an understatement. It is so beautiful and unique, and can be used for a variety of projects.

The first project is a card created with one of my favorite die sets in this collection: Die D-Lites Kimono Etched Dies.

I started by die cutting the papers for my kimono. I went with delicate, spring colors that reminded me of the real Japanese garments. For the outline, I opted for a very light lavender color, while for the inlay panels I alternated patterned paper in contrasting shades.

After cutting the outline, I glued it on to smooth white cardstock and adhered the other panels along with the decorative sakura/cherry blossom flowers on top. I then fussy cut around the edges to get rid of the excess paper. This simple step made the image thicker and perfect to be backed with foam adhesive.

Once ready, I continued working on the card base, for which I picked the same lavender-colored patterned paper. I adhered a 4 x 5.25 inches striped paper on top, and layered a smaller panel of white textured cardstock in between the kimono and the base to make everything pop. To add texture, I die cut many cherry blossoms using the same white cardstock, and adhered them on to my smaller panel. I love how delicate it looks!

To complete the card, I added a sentiment from the Bloom Street scrapbook collection that I used for all my projects today.

The second project is a 12×12 layout. This time I used the gorgeous Shapeabilities Sakura Blossoms Etched Dies.

The die set includes a rectangular border die, on top of which you can layer the beautiful Sakura flowers. I decided to just use the blossoms for this page. What I love about the set is that the flowers come in three different sizes, which is perfect to achieve dimension and texture on your projects.

As you can see, I die cut lots of pretty flowers to frame this sweet photo of my daughter and I. After matting the 12×12 patterned paper with a lighter-colored one, I layered an additional, wide strip in a different design vertically, making sure it partially covered the left side of the background. Once I adhered my photo and a few embellishments from the Bloom Street collection down, I started decorating with clusters of flowers.

The third and final project for today is another card. I used three die sets here: Shapeabilities Waves Etched DiesShapeabilities Sakura Blossoms Etched Dies, and Die D-Lites Origami Crane Etched Dies.

This card came together in no time. The beautiful background die added the right amount of interest, so I felt I didn’t need much more on top. I filled in the high waves with a different patterned paper so to make them stand out more, and left the rest as is, letting the pink paper peek through.

I love the Origami Crane die, so I cut one shape and backed it with vellum. Some of the sections were filled with the same paper I used for the outline. To finish the card, I added three beautiful Sakura blossoms and a sentiment from the Bloom Street collection. Everything was adhered down with foam adhesive.

Spellbinders Supplies:

Other Supplies:

  • Bloom Street Scrapbook Collection by Pink Paislee
  • Scrapbook Adhesives Foam Adhesive
  • FSJ Detailed Foliage Die Set
  • FSJ Summer Branch Die

Thank you so much for joining me today. I hope you enjoyed my projects and will give these fabulous die sets a try. Have a delightful day!

 

Leave a comment