Blog · Cut files · Scrapbooking

Pink Paislee – 4th of July: Festive Layout

Hello friends! I’m wrapping up this 4th of July week on the Pink Paislee blog with a layout that I really enjoyed making. This is not a day I grew up celebrating, but I certainly love all the festivities, excitement, and preparation for it. Every year our kids look forward to watching firework displays and lighting some themselves. I thought a page that reflected all that would be fun to make.

My initial idea was to stitch different sized stars across the middle section of the page, which I did. After finishing a couple of them however, I felt I needed more dimension. I cut several strips from a variety of patterned papers in the Sweet Freedom collection and started putting together a few fireworks to scatter around the page. This served not only the purpose of achieving more dimension, but also making my layout happy and colorful.

For some of the fireworks I decided to fold the strips in half to create loops, for others I just varied their thickness and length. The dimensional star embellishments that come in the collection worked perfectly in the centers – I also used layered stars I made by adhering two die cut stars together with a foam dot.

I have to be honest. This was the first time I placed embellishments on a layout before finding a spot for my photos! I don’t know what I was thinking. I just started gluing away 😉 It definitely made it harder, but not impossible. It was just a matter of resizing the pictures and adding more layers on top.

One of the ephemera pieces was used as a title and lots of stars and sentiments filled up the empty spots.

I really enjoyed making this layout and am very happy with the result! Creating your own embellishments can be a fun way to personalize your pages a little more. Thank you for stopping by! Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

