Blog · Cut files · Scrapbooking

Altenew – Cut File Inspired Layout

Hello everyone. Today I am sharing a new layout for Altenew featuring their Reflection Scrapbook Collection. Inspiration can come from a variety of sources. Sometimes it is a pattern, other times it might be a color or shape. Cut files are one of the tools I often turn to when I need a little bit of a creative boost. Floral images, especially, are some of my favorites.

I started by creating a wash on my white background with the Frosty Pink Metallic Shimmer Spray, which is very subtle while still noticeable. Some purple splatters were also added with the Lavender Fields Metallic Shimmer Spray to give some contrast.

I decided to duplicate the cut file three times, varying its size each time in order to create some movement. The patterned papers I used to back the different pieces, with their watercolor hues, remind me of the natural color of the flowers. The tones in the Reflection Scrapbook Collection are just lovely!

The finished cut files were placed on opposite corners of the picture, as well as in the bottom left section of the page to create a visual triangle. The title fit perfectly in between the lower flowers. I used foam dots to adhere everything down. It is amazing how much dimension you can achieve by just layering your elements!

To me flowers call for butterflies. I used the Painted Butterfly Stamp Set and the Altenew Crisp Inks in a variety of colors for the little butterflies scattered around the page. They come in different sizes, but I chose to use the smaller ones to finish my page. Stamps are always a fantastic way to personalize a layout. The sentiment below the title also comes in the same stamp set.

I hope you felt inspired today to use cut files on your projects. Thank you for stopping by. Have a beautiful day!

 

Leave a Reply

