Blog · Cut files · Scrapbooking

Pink Paislee – Teacher Appreciation: Lots of Bouquets

Hello everyone! I’m wrapping up Teacher Appreciation week on the Pink Paislee blog with a new layout using the Oh My Heart collection by Paige Evans. Let me start by saying how grateful I am for all the wonderful teachers out there who every single day take care of our kids by teaching them about school and life, who comfort them and help them become the people they are. It is a joy for us to show them how much we appreciate their efforts and work.

One of the things the kids and I enjoy doing every year is make little bouquets to give to their teachers. We use colorful tissue paper to form cones and fill them up with a variety of flowers from our yard. For my layout today, I tried to recreate the same idea by placing several little bouquets in a circle to form a frame for my picture.

To start, I fussy cut what felt like a ton of flowers πŸ˜‰ I truly didn’t mind at all, as I really enjoy the process. What ended up on this layout is actually only about half of all the pieces I cut out.

Next, the cones. I used a cut file from the Silhouette store but you can obtain a similar result by cutting circles out of patterned paper and rolling them inward in a cone shape. Another great alternative would be using doilies. Their pretty lace edge would give your page or project a very romantic look.

I have a total of six cones on my layout which I filled up with lots and lots of floral pieces.

I decided to adhere the cones down with foam to give them a little dimension. Foam dots were also used for the flap that folds over them.

Although the flowers soften the overall look of the layout, the geometrical design is what stands out. To continue with the same idea, I thought to use a hexagon shape for my photo. I kept the embellishments to a minimum as the page was already quite colorful and busy.

I don’t usually journal a whole lot on my pages, but the story that goes with this photo is very special and needed to be part of it. I created a hidden spot behind my picture to document how much my son’s kindergarten teacher positively affected him and his love for school.

I hope this layout inspired you to bring a little piece of real life onto your pages. I’m sure my kids will enjoy remembering all the love that went into preparing those little bouquets for their teachers. Thank you for stopping by. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

