Blog · Cut files · Scrapbooking

Pink Paislee – Mothers: You Are My Bright Side

Hello Pink Paislee friends! Today I’m kicking off ‘Mothers’ week on the Pink Paislee blog with a layout that combines some of my favorites: lots of pink, flowers, butterflies, and a sweet picture of me and my kids. I’m actually very excited about the way this photo turned out. It is so hard to get all of us to smile at the same time. You can totally see my boy is chewing on a piece of candy, but I’m ok with that. It makes me smile πŸ™‚

I picked the pink ombre patterned paper from the Oh My Heart collection as my background and created what reminds me of a field of flowers. The cut file is from the Silhouette store (item #81773). I just replicated it a few times across the page varying the size and the direction of the single flowers. Folding the petals took quite a bit of time, but the end result was totally worth it. A similar idea can be achieved with fussy cut or origami flowers.

I backed each flower with a different patterned paper from the collection. Although it is barely visible in the picture, it adds a lot of interest to the layout. I love all the colors peekingΒ through the petals.

Next came the picture. I opted for a black and white one as it creates a nice contrast and allowed me to cluster colorful fussy cut flowers in the top right corner.

At one point, I felt like something was missing. What’s a field of flowers without butterflies? I decided to cut a few in different sizes and layered them for extra dimension. The stitched swirls added the final touch.

I hope you felt inspired today to use some of your favorites on your mother-themed layouts. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

