Blog · Cards · Cut files · Scrapbooking

Pink Paislee – Easter: One Cut File, Two Cards

Happy Easter week! Cut files have always been my main source of inspiration whether I create full page layouts, mini albums, or cards. I love their versatility and I think they add an interesting touch to any project. Today I am sharing two cards that I created by using the same cut file in different ways.

Since the theme of this week is Easter, I thought a cut file that resembled a weaved basket would be fun to use. The Cozy Quilt cut file from The Cut Shoppe was perfect for it.

For my first card I decided to use the cut file as it is. I backed only some of it with different patterned papers from the lovely Oh My Heart collection. I wanted the soft green paper from the Take Me Away collection to show through. To give the card more dimension I used foam dots to adhere it down.

I then created a banner with my sentiment and completed the card with just one floral piece in the center. Keeping embellishments to a minimum is a good way to balance off an otherwise busy card with multiple colors and patterns.

For my second card I used the positive space of the cut file. In order to keep the exact same distance between all the pieces, I used the cut file itself as a guide. After placing it on top of the patterned paper I meant to use as my background, I started gluing down the different parts. I then lifted the cut file and saved it for my next card. I really love the result!

To make my cluster stand out, I backed it with some twine that I weaved back and forth to create an extra layer behind the chipboard flowers. A banner with my sentiment completed the card.

I hope you are inspired today to use cut files on your cards. There is so much more you can do with them. Try using them as a stencil or to create a stitching pattern. The possibilities are endless! Until next time. Have a lovely day!

One thought on “Pink Paislee – Easter: One Cut File, Two Cards

Leave a Reply

