Blog · Scrapbooking

Pink Paislee – Spring Break: Colorful And Fun

Hello everyone! I am wrapping up Spring Break week on the Pink Paislee blog today with a colorful and vibrant layout using the Oh My Heart collection by Paige Evans. My goal for this layout was to make it as happy as possible. I wanted it to bring a smile on my face every time I looked at it. My family and I look forward to this time of the year, as we usually get to travel somewhere sunny and fun. I wanted my page to reflect all the anticipation and excitement that precedes and accompanies our travels.

To begin, I created a cut file out of one of the sentiments on Paper 09. I used a black marker to color in the “have fun” sentiment, took a picture of it and imported it into my Silhouette software so I could trace it and obtain the cut file. This is an easy way to create a title or some new embellishments to use on your page. As I also wanted to incorporate more patterned papers at once. I created a second cut file by just welding together three circles in different sizes. I finally combined the two cut files together so to have the sentiment go around the biggest circle. Here is the cut file if you would like to use it.

One of my favorite techniques when it comes to adding more texture to a page is hand stitching. For the sentiments, I used embroidery floss that matched the colors in the collection. I also fussy cut some floral elements and layered them onto the corresponding colors for a tone-on-tone look. I feel that the colors stand out even more this way. I opted for a black and white photo, which I backed with different patterned papers, and added more floral pieces and embellishments. Two strips of paper at the bottom and some black paint splashes finished the layout.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my process and are inspired to use the Oh My Heart collection to give your layout a happy vibe. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

