Blog · Cut files · Off the page

Pink Paislee – Off The Page: Floral Home Decor

Hi Pink Paislee friends! I’m here today to share a home décor piece I created with the gorgeous Oh My Heart collection. As we are in the midst of remodeling our girls’ bedroom, I thought it would be fun to start thinking about some of the details we want to add to their décor. My oldest daughter has chosen pink and lavender tones with touches of mint. What can I say? This mama’s heart is pretty happy about it 🙂

We decided to make a floral initial to hang above their beds. I have seen many inspiring examples all over the Internet. I could not wait to try it out.

I had purchased a white 12×12” frame from the local craft store and decided to use it as my base. Although I loved the idea of having just a single letter hanging on the wall, I thought adding a frame would make it look more complete. Just a preference, I guess. The frame came with a raised mat that has an 8×8” opening in the middle, allowing me to use two different patterned papers to decorate it. I really wanted to use the gorgeous ombre purple paper for the square inside the frame, so I went with a more subtle one for the mat.

Next, I used my die cut machine for the initial, which measures 10” in length.

Now onto the rolled roses. For this part I also used a cut file, but you can use dies or download free templates from the Internet. I varied the size of the roses to make them look more realistic. Once I had my spirals cut out, I started rolling them from the outer end towards the middle and hot glued them in place. I then added some fussy cut leaves and little flowers from the collection to finish it off. To stick my shape onto the glass, I found that 3D pop dots work really well and add the extra dimension I like.

I have to admit, it takes quite some time and several 12×12 papers to fill up a letter of this size, but the end result is totally worth it! I hope you’ll give it a try!

Leave a Reply

