Blog · Cut files · Scrapbooking

Clique Kits – Cut files and watercolors

Hello, Clique friends. I’m back today with a simple tutorial on how to use watercolors and cut files together. I’ve always loved the softness of watercolor paint. It is very versatile and you can obtain a different effect depending on how you use it. The November Swan Lake kit was perfect for the idea I had in mind.

ck-swan-lake-kit-main

I decided to use two of the exclusive November cut files:

ck-nov16-cuts-web3_2_orig ck-nov16-cuts-web4_2_orig

For my first layout, I used watercolors to paint the cut out pieces so to match the tones in the Maggie Holmes Gather collection:

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout_closeup5

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout

I then layered smaller and bigger flowers together to give more dimension to the page. The ephemera pieces included in the November kit are just lovely! I mixed up all the flowers I could find. Some I fussy cut from the patterned papers, others come from the add-on chipboard sticker sheet. The cut files this month coordinate perfectly with them.

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout_closeup1

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout_closeup2

I finished the layout with some colored twine to create a banner effect in the top left corner of the page.

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout_closeup3

I then added some of the same twine in the opposite corner to create continuity and achieve a cohesive look.

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout_closeup4

For my second layout, I used watercolors in a different way. My idea here was to create a backdrop of flowers to use for my daughter’s ballet picture.

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout2

First I used my Silhouette to create a stitching template for the vine kind-of-look. Then, I painted underneath the flowers to recreate the soft colors in the collection.

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout2_closeup3

I kept my embellishments to a minimum as I wanted to draw attention to the background and picture.

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout2_closeup2

egudor_nov15_artstudiolayout2_closeup1

I hope you enjoyed reading about my process. I would love for you to give these techniques a try and shows us your work in The Clique Facebook group. You can find the November Swan Lake kit and the awesome Prima Watercolor Set in the Clique store.

Thank you for stopping by!

Have a great day!

firma

 

Leave a Reply

