Blog · Hybrid scrapbooking · Scrapbooking

Sahin Designs – How to transform a printable into a cut file.

Hello there, Friends! Today I want to share with you a mini tutorial on how to transform a printable into a cut file.

Whenever I come across a collection I’ve never used before, I look at all the papers and elements to see if there is anything that speaks to me. By “speak to me” I mean any details, quotes, or designs I want to base my project on. The Luminary collection is perfection, with its warm colors and beautiful patterns. I wanted to use all the bits and pieces I could, so I decided to make a 12×12 inch scrapbook page with it.

The first thing that caught my eye was the beautiful quote “Shine, Darling. That’s all”. I loved the font, the saying, and I knew I had the perfect picture to go with it. My daughter turned ten this year. She is such a sweet, bright soul. I wanted to document her birthday and wish her the best.

As always, I used my trusted Silhouette Cameo to create the title. My goal was to have a big title that showed the meaning of the layout at once.

Silhouette 1a

I enlarged the quote to make it easier to trace. Then selected the whole area and played with the High Pass Filter until every single word showed as a solid yellow.

Silhouette 2

Once I had the cut file ready, I made it even bigger, so it would take half of the page. Mine measures 6in by 7in approximately.

Silhouette 3
Finally, the elements. How gorgeous are those flowers!!! I’m in love! You can read about how I use the print and cut feature here.

Silhouette 4

Here is my final layout:

Elif Sahin Designs - Luminary 3
And some close ups:

Luminary Closeup 1
As you can see, I’ve backed up my cut file with some of the beautiful papers in the collection.

Luminary Closeup 2

I love adding clusters here and there.

Luminary Closeup 3

And that is it, Friends! I hope you enjoyed this mini tutorial and will give it a try. The Luminary collection, as well as any other collections by Sahin Designs, is versatile and beautiful. There is so much to choose from!

Until next time.

firma

Leave a Reply

